On April 18 (Wednesday) 2018, at 8 pm at the Museum of Contemporary Art - Skopje, will be opened the international exhibition "All that we have in common" .

The exhibition All That We Have in Common addresses uncertainty in the context of various social, political, and cultural surroundings related to the vulnerability and existential unpredictability. Being in a state of instability, some people and groups suffer or are robbed of rights in their own social constellations, getting exposed to symbolic and material acts of violence which result into conflicts, transitions, limitations and labor abuse, migrations, exodus, injustice, and gender inequality. Is it possible to find practices which can be directed towards a common good or to create our own joint action, in a context when what defines us as a shared value is the common uncertainty, which at the same time is what separates us from the rest? Thus, the question is: How can these dispersive, restless entities act as unified? 

The selection of artwork of 18 artists acquaints us with situations of various uncertain and scattered historical contexts, offering the opportunity to be involved in the present, while asking us to actively engage into self-exploration, digging into our experiences and attitudes. The problems they address are tragic; conditions of political manipulation, social misery and exclusion, cultural subjugation and dependence on a set of crucial/impactful factors witnessing the everyday restlessness.

Therefore, this exhibition raises the awareness for the mutual uncertainty, but also for some motivated action. The selection of works inspires us to think about the ways we perceive the current conditions and allows us to think about how our personal vision, responsibility and involvement can be socially shared. 

Curators: Mira Gakjina and Jovanka Popova

Participating artists: Ana Adamović (Serbia), Maja Bajevic (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Yane Calovski (Macedonia), Biljana Đurđević (Serbia), Velimir Žernovski (Macedonia), Flaka Haliti (Kosovo), Ibro Hasanović (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Ištvan Išt Huzjan (Slovenia), Hristina Ivanoska (Macedonia), Slavica Janeslieva (Macedonia), Gjorgje Jovanovik (Macedonia), Šejla Kamerić (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Alban Muja (Kosovo), Ahmet Ögüt (Turkey), Maria Papadimitriou (Greece), Renata Poljak (Croatia), Anri Sala (Albania / France), Žaneta Vangeli (Macedonia)

Visual identity: Neda Firfova

Visit Skopje on Instagram

© 2018  VisitSkopje.mk. All rights reserved | Design by Entity Media